My Views on Make-Up: Less is More…and Sometimes None is More

Dear Soph-
One of my absolute favorite things to do is kiss your cheeks. Especially when you are sound asleep in my arms. They are the cutest, chubbiest, smoothest, most perfect cheeks I have ever seen.

You have such beautiful, smooth skin. It’s amazing. It’s so soft! It’s so blemish free!

It so does not need make-up.

So here’s the deal. When you – inevitably – come to me in junior high (hopefully no sooner than that) asking me to buy you some foundation or eye shadow or mascara, I will tell you what my mom told me.

You don’t need it.

And be glad you don’t need it. Because there will come a time – way down the road – when you actually will need it. But what’s the rush? Milk this time for all its worth. You’re young. You should look young. You have the rest of your life to be a grown up and look the part. It is such a privilege to be a kid…and I will do everything in my power to make sure you have plenty of time to just be a kid. And that includes not letting you clog up your pores with unnecessary make-up. Or make yourself up to look any older than you are.

All it does is cover up your natural beauty. You’re perfecting what’s already perfect. And that’s just a waste of time.

That being said, I will (as my mom did) make exceptions for special occasions…school dances and the like. But, please, no black lips or overuse of eyeliner. You are a young lady – not a raccoon.

Consider this fair warning, kid. Please don’t beg me in the aisles of CVS to buy foundation. I won’t do it. Because you don’t need it. You are flawless without it. You are a natural beauty – inside and out.

But I will meet you in the middle and buy you some tinted moisturizer…with SPF 30.

Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

