A Promise to You…

Dear Soph-

I’ve had cause recently to really reflect on what it means to be a parent. What that role is…what it should be, anyway. It’s certainly not an easy job by any means. Especially with all the curve balls life may throw your way. I’ll be honest, I don’t have all the answers – I am far from perfect – and sometimes I don’t feel like I know what I’m doing. All I know is that I love you more than anything in this world and there are a few things I can promise you…

I will not treat you like a friend. You are my child. As you grow up, I hope our relationship transforms from parent-child to great friends. But right now, I am your mom.

I will not burden you with my fears, or my worries, or my concerns about my job…my marriage…my health…my future.

I will not expect you to make me whole.

I will not use you as a crutch.

I will not expect you to be my therapist.

I will not expect a level of maturity out of you that you have not yet grown into.

I will not make you worry about me.

During difficult or challenging times in my life, I will not say mean, hurtful things to you to try and bring you down to my miserable level.

I will be the grown up.

I will be the mature one.

I will be wise enough, and mentally and emotionally strong enough to know that you deserve to be a child.

I am your safe place.

I will help make you whole.

I will be your crutch during difficult times.

I will be your sounding board.

I will guide you as you grow into a mature young woman.

I will worry about you.

And, most importantly, I will not turn my back on you.

Love, Mom

2 thoughts on “A Promise to You…

  1. Dear Emily, what a perfectly written letter to your beautiful little Soph – I loved it and how appropriate at this time in another situation.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

